Chapter Nineteen: Karaoke

“Do you think I’m overdressed for karaoke? He said it’s in the fashion district, so it’s a really posh place if it’s the one I’m thinking of.” Guinevere had just finished putting on her little red dress and strapping on her heels.
“You’re fine. My sister lives in the fashion district with her husband…and she’s very posh these days.” Guinevere smoothed her hand over her dress, she was nervous. I’m going to be expected to sing on stage. I don’t know many modern music songs. I-I only know rock music, and I don’t know if that’s still in or not. “Relax, Your Majesty. You’ll be with Sam’s nephew. I swear, that family has some kind of affect on you.” Yuki took a few steps toward Guinevere, reached out and fluffed her hair. ” You know…As much as you hate red, it looks amazing on you. It actually brings color to your skin.” Guinevere’s face scrunched up in disgust.
“It’s such a cliché vampire color though.”
“So is black, yet you insist on having your wardrobe as nothing but black.” Drats. She has a point.
“Okay. Then what about that fashion rule about never wearing red with ginger hair?” Genuine concern was on Guinevere’s face.
“Then those people have never seen you. Seriously, don’t worry about it. Go have fun with Gunther. I’m sure he’ll think you’re absolutely breathtaking.” Guinevere hugged Yuki and left in a swirl of black mist.

She landed in front of Gunther. If he wasn’t there to catch her, she surely would’ve fallen.
“Rough flight?” He asked as he steadied her.
“No. Just a rough landing. New heels and I haven’t had a chance to break them in during a long distance flight.” She brushed imaginary dirt off of her dress.
“Happy birthday Gwen.” Her attention went from her dress to him. She flashed a smile before hugging him. As soon as she dropped her arms, she felt his lips briefly press against her cheek. “I hope you had a good time with Caleb.” It took all of her willpower to not burst out in giggles and blurt out that Caleb fantasizes about him.
“I did. Caleb kissed me. I think a marriage between he and I could work…there’s a lot of physical chemistry.” Something Guinevere couldn’t quite decipher flickered in Gunther’s eyes. Jealousy? Maybe I’m hoping it’s jealously when it’s not. “Let’s go in. It’s been a while since I’ve done karaoke. Diego rented a karaoke machine when they first became mainstream…he hated it because he’s sooo tone deaf.” Gunther chuckled as he opened the door for her.
“After you, birthday girl.”
“Oh puhlease. I’m older than you.” She hissed as she walked past him.

They sat at a table nearest the stage. It was empty, including the bartender. “I rented it out just for us. Just for the night. I called Caleb, who had Yuki compile a list of your favorite songs they would have karaoke for.” Guinevere was in awe. He did all of this, for me?
“Why?” Was all she could say.
“Because it’s your birthday and you deserve to have fun. You’ve been so stressed. That’s why Caleb took you to the spa, now it’s time for you to let loose. Sing your heart out. Get your anger and emotions out in a positive way.” For the first time in a long time, Guinevere wanted to cry from sheer happiness. These two men cared enough to make her whole birthday about relaxation and fun. They were in on this together. “Now go pick a song and sing.” Guinevere stood and approached the stage. She scanned the song list and found a duet of a song she loved dearly.
“Come sing with me. You’d be a hypocrite if you didn’t.” She teased and unhooked the microphones.
“As you wish, Your Majesty. Hopefully I know the song. I’m abysmal when I don’t know the song.” He stepped onto the stage and looked at the song. He sighed with relief. “Fantastic choice.” The music started the moment she pressed play.

Gwen: Too late, won’t stop. Tonight-
Both: I want to go deeper
Gwen: Tomorrow takes it all-
Both:away~
Gwen: Time’s running out. The night is-
Both: only a shell
Gwen: Soon morning comes and breaks the-
Both: spell. To the yesterday, to a dream

Both:Just for tonight, we’ll keep on dancing
And the city won’t tell a soul
Just for tonight, the lights are shining
And our secret stays untold

Both: These streets are mine
Tonight I’ll keep on walking
Won’t stop as long as the city sleeps
Don’t look back once
Or you might turn around
Tonight I’ll give myself to you
And our secret stays untold

Both: Just for tonight, we’ll keep on dancing
And the city won’t tell a soul
Just for tonight, the lights are shining
And our secret stays untold
Just for tonight, we’ll keep on dancing
And the city won’t tell a soul
Just for tonight, the lights are shining
And our secret stays untold

Gwen: They can’t see us now
Gunther: They can’t see us now
Gwen: They won’t catch us now
Gunther: They can’t see us now
Gwen: They can’t see us now
Gunther: They can’t see us now
Gwen: They won’t catch us now
Gunther: They can’t see us now


AN: The song they sing is called Just for Tonight by Manna Ft. Ville Valo (From H.I.M.) — I’ve used the song as inspiration for a couple chapters from previous stories if that’s why the song seems familiar.
But why this song for them to sing? I literally couldn’t find a good enough song that captures their uh…lusty angst…among other “unspecified” reasons.


10 comments on “Chapter Nineteen: Karaoke

  1. cshaner says:

    Awwww so much fun for her birthday!! Loved the lyrics!! Loved “Tonight I’ll give myself to you and our secret will remain untold”

    That was my favorite line. I also enjoyed Gunther’s possible jealous look! ❤️

    Liked by 2 people

  2. LadyLobster says:

    Love her in that dress! And they looked like they were having so much fun together. ❤

    Liked by 2 people

  3. They are adorable together. And she looks fabulous in red. As a redhead myself, I was wary about wearing red until recently.

    Like

Leave a Reply

