Chapter Thirty-Seven: Diego

After her morning with Gunther, Guinevere took a bath and dressed for casual business. She was going to drop in on Diego.
As mist, she arrived in San Myshuno an hour after she left. She stood outside the door and knocked. “Diego~” She sung leaning against the door. “It’s Gwen. Open up.” Immediately the door opened, causing Guinevere to lose her balance. Luckily for her, Diego caught her and stood her upright.
“This is a pleasant surprise. What brings you here?” He placed his hand on the small of her back and led her in so he could shut the door.
“We need to catch up.” It was an easy lie for her, because she missed him. She missed their late night HGTV binges, she missed their innocent intimacy. I guess it’s true: you never know what you have until it’s gone.
“Darling, we could have done that over the phone.” Without thinking, she hugged him. There was so much she wanted to tell him. Needed to tell him, but first she needed to get to business. She broke the hug with a sigh.
“Fine. I am here to catch up, but I really feel like I need to train you. I can guarantee they will want to see what you’re capable of, and they won’t hold back.” Diego nodded and led her to the love seat.
“First, let’s catch up. Tell me everything.”

She started with her first days as queen. She told him about the fairy visit. Then in great detail, she went into the Van Gould Saga. Finally, she told him about Gunther. She knew she could trust him with this.
“So, you love this guy?” Guinevere nodded. “Then I approve. You know I’m a hopeless romantic.”
“Mmmhm. Hopeless is right. You can’t keep your hands off of humans.”
“I haven’t had many lovers recently. I think I’ve found the one…but she keeps rejecting me! I think he’s just playing hard to get.” Guinevere laughed and shook her head.
“She’s smart. But if she ever accepts, just ask and I’ll turn her. It’s the least I can do…I remember when you lost Gianna, I don’t think I could handle seeing you lose another great love.” Diego looked into the fire with a pensive expression.
“The thing is, I don’t know if she could ever accept. She has obligations elsewhere.” Guinevere put her arm over his shoulders and rubbed his arm.
“If you both love each other, it’ll all work out in the end.”
“You think so?” Diego sounded hopeful. For his sake, I hope it does.
“Yeah. Hey! Let’s train for a bit. I wanna see how rusty you’ve become.” Guinevere wanted to change the subject before they both became too sad to train.

Guinevere started with the basics: Bat form, simple commands, and hallucinations. She didn’t expect any of his spells to work on her, but she could still observe his form. His bat form was superb, he must use this for travel. And his posture for the simple commands and hallucinations were expert. “It looks like you’re not as rusty as I thought.”
“It would be easier to see if you weren’t so strong. Maybe one day I’ll become a grand master, and we can finally see who is the stronger vampire.” Guinevere smirked but inwardly applauded his drive.
“That’ll take a lot of dedication and work. If you’re willing, I would be delighted to teach you. We do need another grand master since I can’t think of another off the top of my head.”
“We’ll see what happened with my human. If I can get her to agree then I’ll hold off for a while. But if I can’t, then I’ll become a vampire equivalent of a monk and only live for training.”
“Oh don’t be a drama queen. Show me your need deprivation.” Diego obliged, and again it didn’t work on Guinevere.
“It needs a little work, but that’s normal. That’s something I don’t expect you to ever use.”

Guinevere spent the next three hours showing him tips and tricks for better spellwork. After that, they sparred a couple times – Guinevere won each time. She almost lost once, and she was giving it her all.
“You’re not working out.” Diego commented, and Guinevere looked guilty. “Your super strength won’t help you if you’re up against a vampire hunter that’s a vampire.” He chastised with worry.
“I know. I’ve just been so busy I haven’t had time to-” Diego held a finger up.
“No more excuses. If I’m to join the League, we’re going to schedule a work out day for us. It’s for your own good, mi amiga.”
“You’re right. Van Gould probably could have cured me if he was brave enough to take me on. It’s reckless for me to not be in top physical shape.”
“I’m glad you see it my way.” They ended that conversation and continued to train until she went home after midnight.

8 comments on “Chapter Thirty-Seven: Diego

  1. LadyLobster says:

    Ha, now I can’t help but wonder if Diego is in love with Cornelia Goth! That sure would make things easier…or harder. (That seems to happen a lot in Gwen’s life–good things bring just as many complications!)

    Liked by 2 people

  2. wagonfruit says:

    OMG…I legit thought Guinny wasn’t even wearing a shit!

    Liked by 2 people

  3. cshaner says:

    I like Diego and their innocent intimacy. I think I’ve told you before I love HGTV so he already has my heart. I’m glad he’s got someone to possibly share his immortal love with.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I like Diego. I wonder who he’s in love with.

    Like

Leave a Reply

